Debut
    Jun 2001
    Runs
    Mentioned
    2219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    27 Thread(s)

Talent Spotter : Shahzaib Ahmed

The latest Talent Spotter entry on PakPassion speaks with highly rated leg spinner Shahzaib Ahmed who was recently awarded the best bowler of the tournament award after he topped the bowling charts in the Patrons Trophy Grade II tournament.

Name:  shahzaib_ahmad_2.jpg
Views: 3270
Size:  53.9 KB

Full name : Shahzaib Ahmed Khan

Born : September 8, 1991, Karachi, Sind

Current age : 23 years

Major teams : Karachi Blues, Karachi Dolphins, Karachi Electric Supply Company, Karachi Whites, Karachi Zebras, Karachi Zone IV Under-19s, Pakistan Under-19s, Port Qasim Authority, Quetta Bears

Batting style : Right-hand bat

Bowling style : Legbreak

Getting Into Cricket

My father used to play cricket and he was the reason why I started playing cricket at the age of 14. I started from academy cricket and progressed from there. My father really wanted me to become a professional cricketer and thankfully I have fulfilled his dream.

Role Models

Imran Khan is my role model. I have seen a lot of videos of him and I was inspired by his attitude, the positivity and his fighting spirit. Other than that, Shahid Afridi is the one I am greatly inspired by. He is a leg spinner and a superstar of our country. I follow him and I aim to be his replacement in future.

Selection for Pakistan U19s

I was selected for the Pakistan U19s on the basis of my performance at the Karachi district level. I was the top wicket-taker and got 30 wickets in 6 matches. It was a national record and that performance of mine caught the eyes of the selectors and I was then named in the Pakistan U19s squad.

Performance at the U19 level

Alhamdulillah, last season I got 75 wickets in the regional U19 cricket circuit. For the Pakistan U19s, I have bowled at an average of 19 and have taken three 5-wicket hauls and two 4-wicket hauls.

Selection for Karachi Dolphins